Winners of the 2017 National Animal Art Exhibiton

For the 16th year, IAA has hosted  a competition featuring animal art. Juror Patsy Lindamond selected 62 pieces of art and photography from artists from all over the country. Drawings,  watercolors, oils, acrylics, photography,  and mixed media are included in this annual exhibit. (Preview Gallery)

The show opened Sunday, August 27th and runs until Sept. 29th at the Jaycee Park Center for the Arts. Gallery hours are Sun., Mon., Wed. & Thurs., from 1 to 4 p.m. and Tues.  from 10:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. The Awards Reception was held on Sunday afternoon, September 10 from 2-4pm. For a copy of the show catalog click here: 2017 IAA Animal Art Catalog

For Reception & Awards photos, check the IAA Photo Album . – For pictures of the award-winning art, see the Winners Gallery below.

Credit goes to those who worked hard on this exhibit: Exhibit Chair was Linda Wood Shotwell. Entry intake was done through this year; catalog, by John Hunter. Hanging and intake volunteers were Linda Shotwell, Susan Murray,  Kathleen Ramirez, and Sharon Giles.  Food for the reception was handled by Susan Murray, and reception photographer was Patsy Davila.

On October 17th, 17 pieces from this exhibit will be on display at the Irving Arts Center (3333 N. MacArthur, Irving) for the 6th Annual IAA Animal Art Traveling Exhibit until November 26. Traveling exhibit chairs are Sharon Giles and Susan Murray.


BEST OF SHOW: Gwen Revino “King of the Road, India”
IAA President’s Award: Sheliah Lonian “What a Surprise!”

WATER MEDIA 1st Judi Betts “West Texas”
2nd Shelby Prindaville “Perspective”
3rd Marilyn Bourbon “Happy Go Lucky”
HM Sharon Giles “Cattin’ Around”
HM Elaine Jary “Late Afternoon Egret”
OIL 1st Ann Hardy “Red Headed Friends”
2nd Janae Corrado “The Glutton”
3rd PJ Lenorovitz “Koi Mist”
HM Debbie Flynn A Beauty Up in Thin Air
DRY MEDIA 1st Valorie Sams “Chester”
2nd Deb LaFogg “Crested Caracara”
3rd Ruben Contreras “Looking at Me”
HM Donna Myers “Arm Chair Dog”
PHOTOGRAPHY 1st Tina Alvarez “Dancing Jellies”
2nd John Fernandez “Bos Tauri”
3rd Justin Higgs “Jackie Boy”
HM Krista Hulsman “Texas Longhorn II”
MIXED MEDIA 1st Robin Ingle “Rockin Rooster”
2nd Susie Monzingo “Safe Landing”